20 Crossfit Haiku

When I first started Crossfit awhile back, I tweeted out a haiku for the first 20 times I went. Here they are…

kbell

Day 1

Did many deadlifts

With men who bloodied themselves

Scraping weight up shins

Day 2

Too many burpees.

One hundred kettle bell swings.

High-fives all around.

Day 3

Sore from yesterday.

Bruised wrists from kettle snatches.

And now more abuse.

Day 4

First time I fall down

Snatching what I could not catch.

More shaken than sore.

Day 5

Run, burpees, deadlifts.

Old, tired, but I finish first.

Coach yells, “3 MORE ROUNDS!”

Day 6

Headstand day is a

bad day to wear loose short shorts.

Blood-filled head don’t care.

Day 7

Now, I expect that

Crossfit heart-attack feeling.

Not just scared by it.

Day 8

Coach: “You triathlete?

You can live in the pain zone.”

Me: “No. But I know.”

Day 9

My olympic lifts

Are not much of an event.

Children outlift me.

Day 10

For kipping pull-ups,

I rubberband myself to

The bar, slingshot up.

Day 11

In warm-up, girl says,

“You look like the guy from ‘House.'”

Limping, rumpled, pissed.

Day 12

Coach eyes the one thir-

ty-five I’ll try 5 thruster

sets with. Asks, “You sure?”

Day 13

My hands blister from

Eighty-eight deadlift burpees.

I wince to high-five

Day 14

Hand-release pushups

Are a self-waterboarding

When you sweat a lot.

Day 15

I do headstand holds

Even though I have a cold.

Runny nose runs up.

Day 16

It’s easy to trick

Myself to do what I can’t.

Recovering ain’t.

Day 17

My hang power clean

Is not what one would call “clean.”

I’m working on it.

Day 18

Today’s WOD: AMRAP

WB’s, DL’s and

KB’s. FML.

Day 19

Coach posted a pic

Of me doing KB swings.

Gut looks distended.

Day 20

They play nu metal.

Compelling us to work out

To barking psychos.

Tags: ,

One Response to “20 Crossfit Haiku”

  1. Why Eat Bugs #4: Sustainable Paleo | Online Journal for Eric Bescak Says:

    […] not super into paleo, but I do the Crossfit thing and you’re inevitability introduced to the diet there. I agree with a lot of its principles and […]

Leave a Reply

